Rough Country 10604 vs Rugged Ridge 18050.82: TJ crossover steering kits
Published 10 September 2026
These two kits are near twins in layout. Both swap the factory Y-link for a crossover, with a double-duty tie rod end at the passenger knuckle. Where they differ is the lift they are built for and how they attach to the knuckles.
Their lift ranges barely overlap. That alone settles the choice for most TJ owners.
At a glance
| Rough Country 10604 | Rugged Ridge 18050.82 | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $349.95 MAP as of September 2026 | $479.99 on ruggedridge.com, September 2026 |
| Layout | Crossover (T-style) | Crossover (T-style) |
| TJ and LJ | 1997-2006 TJ; 2004-2006 LJ | 1997-2006 TJ; LJ in the instructions |
| Lift | 4 in. or more | 2 to 4 in. |
| Wheels | Not factory wheels; 16 in. or larger advised | Not factory Rubicon, flat-face, small OEM steel or deep-backspace wheels |
| Knuckle work | Drill to 5/8 and ream (7 degree) | None; stock tapers |
| Tube | 1.5 in. DOM, wall not published | 1-1/4 in. DOM, 1/4 in. wall |
| Rod ends | Thread size not published | 7/8 in. |
| Stated install | 2-3 hours | Time not published; "Light to Moderate" skill (retailer) |
| Warranty | Lifetime on hard suspension parts; 1 year on wear items | 5 year limited |
What each kit is, and the problem it solves
The factory tie rod is the part a TJ bends first on bigger tires. Rugged Ridge sells its kit as "a bolt-on solution for preventing bent tie rods from wheeling with larger tires." Rough Country pitches the 10604 at the same job.
The Rough Country 10604 uses 1.5 in. DOM tube for both links. Rough Country says its rotational non-articulating joints prevent bump steer, and that the kit adds clearance between the tie rod and the diff cover.
The Rugged Ridge 18050.82 uses 1-1/4 in. DOM tube with a 1/4 in. wall. Rugged Ridge says the tubes are "cold rolled, pierced, and drawn," with "NO seams OR welds to fail." Its 7/8 in. rod ends promise "one ton strength without any modifications to your steering knuckles."
One layout, two kits
Rugged Ridge's instructions say the "dual attachment point tie-rod end should be mounted to the passenger side knuckle." That is the same arrangement as the Rough Country, where the drag link bolts through an eye in the passenger tie rod end.
Fitment, side by side
| Fitment item | Rough Country 10604 | Rugged Ridge 18050.82 |
|---|---|---|
| TJ | Wrangler 1997-2006, including Rubicon 2003-2006 | 1997-2006 Wrangler TJ |
| LJ (Unlimited) | Unlimited 2004-2006; Unlimited Rubicon 2005-2006 | Named in the instructions ("TJ, LJ, XJ, ZJ"), not on the product page |
| Other Jeeps | Cherokee 1984-2001, Comanche 1986-1992, Grand Cherokee 1993-1998 | Cherokee 1984-2001, Grand Cherokee 1993-1998 |
| Engine | Not limited | Not limited by the maker. One retailer lists 4.0L only. |
| Minimum lift | 4 in. | 2 in. |
| Maximum lift | Not published | 4 in. ("Not recommended for vehicles with over 4 inch of lift") |
| Pitman arm | Stock only | Drop pitman "may be required" over 2 in.; RR 18006.50 for 1987-2006 Wrangler |
| Wheels | Not factory wheels; 16 in. or larger advised | Not factory Rubicon, flat-face, smaller OEM steel or deep-backspace wheels |
| Right-hand drive | Does not work | Will not work |
| Stabilizer | Only Rough Country stabilizers | Damper bracket included; factory stabilizer can be reused |
Here is the clean split. Rugged Ridge stops at 4 in., and Rough Country starts there. A TJ at 2 or 3 in. has one choice, a TJ at 5 or 6 in. has the other, and only a 4 in. TJ can pick.
Neither maker gives a backspacing number. Rugged Ridge suggests a dry run instead: hold the assembled tie rod up and check wheel clearance through a full steering sweep before you install it.
Specs and construction
| Spec | Rough Country 10604 | Rugged Ridge 18050.82 |
|---|---|---|
| Tube OD | 1.5 in. | 1-1/4 in. |
| Wall | "Thick wall," no figure | 1/4 in. |
| Material | DOM steel | DOM steel, seamless |
| Rod ends | Greaseable, wrench flats; size not published | 7/8 in., standard taper, greaseable, boots |
| Length lock | Jam nuts | 4 thread clamps |
| Weight | 38.15 lb | Not published |
| Finish | Not published | Not published |
The Rough Country tube is larger by a quarter inch. Rugged Ridge is the one that prints its wall thickness, though, so only its tube can be judged on paper.
What's in the box
| Rough Country 10604 (one carton) | Rugged Ridge 18050.82 |
|---|---|
| 1 x 42 in. tie rod link | 1 x long tube, H/D 1.25 in. |
| 1 x 25 in. drag link | 1 x short tube, H/D 1.25 in. |
| 1 x driver side RH and 1 x passenger side LH tie rod end | 2 x 18043.26 tie rod end, 7/8 in. RH |
| 1 x upper LH and 1 x lower RH thread rod end | 1 x 18043.10 tie rod end, 7/8 in. LH; 1 x 18043.27 crossover end, 7/8 in. LH |
| 2 x LH and 2 x RH jam nuts | 4 x 18050.86 thread clamps |
| 4 x castle nuts, 4 x cotter pins | 1 x 18040.50 damper bracket; castle nuts, cotter pins, grease fittings (retailer list) |
Rugged Ridge includes a damper bracket, and Rough Country does not. Rough Country sells the 10604 with its N3 stabilizer as 10613, $389.95 MAP as of September 2026.
Install compared
The Rugged Ridge is a true bolt-on. You record the knuckle-to-knuckle distance, pull the old linkage and bolt the new parts into the stock tapers. Castle nuts go to 60 ft-lbs, and the clamps go to 35 ft-lbs.
The Rough Country has you drill both knuckles and the pitman arm to 5/8. Then you ream each hole with a 7 degree reamer, part 10405, marked at 3/4 in. Go slow, because the guide warns "Do not over ream taper."
| Install item | Rough Country 10604 | Rugged Ridge 18050.82 |
|---|---|---|
| Drilling or reaming | Yes, 3 holes | None |
| Possible trimming | None listed | Sway bar mounting bracket, about 1/4 in., if the drag link hits it at full droop and right lock |
| Starting setup | Tie rod 52 in., drag link 34 in., center to center | Match the recorded knuckle distance; at least 5 threads engaged at each tube end |
| Torque | Castle nuts not stated in the steps | Castle nuts 60 ft-lbs; clamps 35 ft-lbs; stabilizer nut 45 ft-lbs |
| Alignment | Required | Professional alignment required |
| Stated time | 2-3 hours | Not published |
Rugged Ridge flags one maintenance item. If the clamps loosen, the tubes can rotate and knock the Jeep out of alignment, so check them after the first drives.
What it changes on the Jeep, and what else you'll need
- Wheels (both). Neither kit clears factory Rubicon wheels. Budget for aftermarket wheels with less backspacing.
- Drop pitman arm (Rugged Ridge). Rugged Ridge says one "may be required" over 2 in. of lift. Rough Country forbids one.
- Stabilizer (Rough Country). The 10604 only works with Rough Country stabilizers, so a factory or third-party unit is out.
- Sway bar bracket (Rugged Ridge). Check drag link clearance at full droop and full right lock.
- Alignment (both). Neither maker publishes a toe or caster setting.
About death wobble. Rugged Ridge's instructions say "All steering linkages and track bars should remain as parallel as possible." That is the heart of the problem on a lifted TJ. A new tie rod will not save a worn track bar, so read our death wobble guide and what a lift breaks first.
Warranty and support
| Rough Country | Rugged Ridge | |
|---|---|---|
| Term | Lifetime on hard suspension components; 1 year on wear items and on paint and finishes | Five years from the initial retail purchase |
| Covers | Hard parts: "welds, cracks, or breakage" | Defects in material and workmanship, when installed per the instructions |
| Key exclusions | Removal and installation costs | All other express or implied warranties disclaimed |
| Transferable | Not stated | No; initial retail purchaser only |
| Claims | Case by case; photos and proof of purchase may be required | CSTeam@omix-ada.com or 800-328-2293, with proof of purchase and photos |
Rough Country's page does not name tie rods or rod ends. It lists "Bushings, Ball Joints, Etc" as 1 year wear items, so the joints may carry 1 year while the tubes carry lifetime. Rugged Ridge's five years covers the whole kit as one product.
Owner reports
Ratings for the Rugged Ridge kit disagree sharply. Rugged Ridge's own site shows 1.0 from 3 reviews, while ExtremeTerrain shows 4.5 stars from 78. Neither page rendered review text we could quote.
We did not find an owner report specific to the Rough Country 10604 that we could cite. Its product page, captured in October 2023, showed no reviews yet.
Who should buy which
- TJ or LJ on 2 to 3.5 in. of lift: Rugged Ridge. The Rough Country does not support it.
- TJ over 4 in.: Rough Country. Rugged Ridge does not recommend its kit there.
- Exactly 4 in., and you won't drill knuckles: Rugged Ridge. It bolts into the stock tapers.
- Exactly 4 in., on a budget: Rough Country. It is $130 cheaper at the listed prices and uses larger tube.
- You want one warranty for the whole kit: Rugged Ridge. Five years, with no split between tubes and joints.
FAQ
Which kit fits a TJ with exactly 4 inches of lift?
Both. Rough Country says the 10604 needs 4 inches or more. Rugged Ridge says the 18050.82 is designed for up to 4 inches of lift.
Do I need to ream my knuckles for the Rugged Ridge kit?
No. Rugged Ridge says its 7/8 inch rod ends have standard tapers to fit stock knuckles, with no modifications. The Rough Country 10604 needs the knuckles and pitman arm drilled to 5/8 and reamed with a 7 degree reamer.
Will either kit work with factory Rubicon wheels?
No. Rugged Ridge says the 18050.82 will not work with factory Rubicon wheels or flat-face wheels. Rough Country says the 10604 does not work with factory wheels.
Does the Rugged Ridge kit fit the LJ Unlimited?
Rugged Ridge's install instructions list TJ, LJ, XJ and ZJ. Its product page lists the 1997-2006 Wrangler TJ without naming the Unlimited.
Do I need a drop pitman arm?
Not with the Rough Country, which must use the stock pitman arm. Rugged Ridge says a drop pitman arm and adjustable drag link may be required over 2 inches of lift and are strongly recommended over 4 inches.
Sources
- Rough Country 10604 install instructions (PDF)
- Rough Country HD Steering Kit product page (archived October 2023)
- Rough Country Lifetime Replacement Warranty (archived July 2026)
- Rugged Ridge 18050.82 product page and warranty
- Rugged Ridge 18050.82 install instructions (PDF)
- Rugged Ridge warranty and returns
- ExtremeTerrain 18050.82 listing