Rough Country 7594 vs Zone Offroad ZONJ1: TJ Coil Spacer Lift
Published 10 September 2026
These two parts share a spacer height and a price bracket, and almost nothing else. Rough Country's is a pair that raises the front of a TJ. Zone's is a kit that raises the whole Jeep and resets the bump stops to match.
So the question isn't which spacer is better. It's which job you want done. The answer depends mostly on tire size.
At a glance
| Rough Country 7594 | Zone Offroad ZONJ1 | |
|---|---|---|
| TJ fitment | 1997-2006 Wrangler 4WD, incl. Rubicon, Unlimited and Unlimited Rubicon | 1997-2006 Wrangler TJ/LJ, 4WD, gas |
| Lift | 1.75 in. front only | 1.75 in. front and 1.75 in. rear |
| Parts | 2 spacers | 4 spacers, 4 bump stop extensions, 4 bolts |
| Spacer material | Not named by RC | Polyurethane |
| Max tire (maker) | 30x9.5 | 32 x 11.5 on 15x8 or 16x8, 3.5 in. backspacing; trimming may be required |
| Install time (maker) | 1-3 hours, professional shop estimate | 2-3 hours; "Moderately Easy" |
| Install sheet | None published | J2200, 6 pages with torque specs |
| Alignment | Not addressed | Required; cam bolts recommended with factory lower arms |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime (as listed by distributors) | 3 years / 36K miles, then limited lifetime |
| Price | $49.95 MAP as of September 2026 | $92.95 on zoneoffroad.com, September 2026 (no shocks) |
What each part is, and the problem it solves
Many TJs sit nose-down from the factory. TeraFlex's instruction sheet puts it directly: "The rear of many TJs sits higher than the front." A front-only spacer fixes that, while a four-corner kit keeps the rake and raises everything.
Rough Country 7594 is the middle drawing. RC calls it a "Precision 1.75-Inch Front Lift" that "Levels the stance." Quadratec says it "will make the front and rear sit at the same height," and advises against using it on the rear.
Zone ZONJ1 is the right-hand drawing. Zone lists 1.75 in. front and 1.75 in. rear, and says the kit "includes heavy-duty coil spacers and the bump stops you need to handle impacts and keep your springs from wearing out."
Fitment, side by side
| Vehicle | Rough Country 7594 | Zone Offroad ZONJ1 |
|---|---|---|
| TJ SE, Sport, Sahara, X, 1997-2006 | Yes, 4WD | Yes, 4WD gas |
| TJ Rubicon, 2003-2006 | Yes, listed by name | Yes, in Zone's trim tags |
| LJ Unlimited, 2004-2006 | Yes, listed by name | Yes, "Wrangler TJ/LJ" |
| LJ Unlimited Rubicon, 2005-2006 | Yes, listed by name | Yes, in Zone's trim tags |
| Cherokee XJ, Grand Cherokee ZJ | Yes (XJ 1985-2001 front; ZJ 1993-1998) | No, TJ/LJ only |
| Combined with other lifts | Not addressed for the TJ | Zone "does not recommend the combined use of suspension lifts, body lifts, or other lifting devices" |
Neither maker lists a TJ trim that won't fit. Zone's listing is tagged gas and 4WD, and covers every TJ and LJ trim. Rough Country's covers every 4WD Wrangler from 1997 to 2006.
Specs and construction
| Spec | Rough Country 7594 | Zone Offroad ZONJ1 |
|---|---|---|
| Spacer material | Not named by RC. ExtremeTerrain: polyurethane. Amazon spec table: polypropylene. | Polyurethane |
| Spacer height | 1.75 in. | 1-3/4 in. |
| Bump stop extensions | None | 4, fastened with 10mm x 80mm bolts |
| Weight | 2 lb (package) | Not published |
| Shock options | None | Nitro Series ($312.75 kit) or FOX 2.0 Adventure Series ($564.75 kit) |
Zone's spacer has a small lip that "should point down when it is installed." It sits below the factory isolator, not in place of it. Rough Country publishes no such detail.
What's in the box
Rough Country 7594: two spacers. RC confirmed "a pair of 2 spacers" in its product Q&A. No hardware is included.
Zone Offroad ZONJ1: per the J2200 instructions, four 1-3/4 in. coil spring spacers, four bump stop extensions and four 10mm x 80mm bolts. Shocks are not included in the $92.95 kit.
Install compared
Both installs drop the axle and pull the coil. Zone does it at both ends and adds a bump stop step at each corner, so it is the longer job. Neither needs drilling, cutting or welding.
Zone publishes a full six-page procedure. On the front it has you unbolt the track bar at the axle, which "may require a T-50 Torx socket on early models." Then you remove the shocks, pop the sway bar links with a pickle fork, and free the drag link at the pitman arm.
Next you remove the passenger-side lower control arm bolt so the axle drops far enough. On a 1997 TJ, Zone has you mark the alignment cams first. It warns, "Take care not to over extend the brake lines."
Rough Country publishes no procedure for 7594. It gives only "1-3 hours," described in 2013 as the average for "a professional shop or mechanic."
| Install detail | Rough Country 7594 | Zone Offroad ZONJ1 |
|---|---|---|
| Time | 1-3 hours | 2-3 hours (PDF); 2.5 hrs (product page) |
| Axles worked | Front | Front and rear |
| Special tools | Not published | T-50 Torx socket, small pickle fork |
| Key torques | Not published | Bump stop bolt 30 ft-lbs; lower control arms 85; front track bar 50; rear track bar 70 |
| Who should install | Not stated | "installed by a professional technician" recommended |
| Afterward | Not stated | Front alignment; brake hose checks; headlight aim; re-torque after 500 miles |
What it changes on the Jeep, and what else you'll need
Bump stops are the biggest engineering difference. A spacer moves the axle away from the frame, but the factory bump stop stays where it was. Zone's extensions move it down to match, which Zone says "properly limit up-travel," while 7594 alone leaves the stop further from the axle than stock.
Caster and alignment: Zone recommends front alignment cam bolts on TJs with factory-length lower arms, and sells a kit for it, part J5311. It also requires a front end alignment for toe and a straight steering wheel. The front axle moves the same 1.75 in. with either part, so budget for an alignment with the RC too.
Driveline: Zone's sheet says lifted vehicles "may experience drive line vibrations," and may need angle tuning or shaft work. Lifting the rear is what steepens the rear driveshaft angle, and 7594 leaves the rear alone.
Neither maker calls for a track bar, shock extensions or longer sway bar links at this height. Both keep the factory pieces. What a lift actually breaks covers what to watch as lifts grow.
Tires decide it for most people. Rough Country's tested sizes top out at 30x9.50R15 on the factory wheel. Zone lists 32 x 11.5 on 15x8 or 16x8 wheels with 3.5 in. backspacing, with trimming possibly needed.
Warranty and support
Zone Offroad: "3 Year / 36K Miles" of "Worry free warranty on all hard parts and wearable items." After that, a limited lifetime warranty applies to the original purchaser while they own the vehicle.
Zone excludes abuse, improper installation, racing, failures from oversized wheels or tires, and "consumer opinions on ride comfort, fitment, design." Claims go to Tech-Zone@ridefox.com or (888) 998-9663.
Rough Country: distributors list 7594 with a "Limited Lifetime Warranty." RC's archived warranty page gives hard suspension components lifetime replacement and wear items one year, without classifying a spacer. It excludes install and removal costs.
Zone's terms are the clearer of the two. They name the part type, the period and the claim route.
Owner reports
These are owner reports, not specs. Zone's product page shows no reviews yet, and TJ forum threads were behind bot walls when we checked. The RC reports come from retailer reviews.
- RC 7594, overall: 4.5 of 5 stars from 75 ratings on Amazon. Quadratec's one review: "Fit perfectly and easy to install." (Walter W., 4/12/2023.)
- RC 7594, compression (owner report): "The flat on the one side has already started giving in to the spring after only a short time." (Audrey, Amazon, 2024-05-31.)
- RC 7594, 31s (owner report): "These fit both front and rear, and give very comfortable clearance for 31s." (J. Gardner, Amazon, 2026-01-16.) This owner went beyond Rough Country's own 30x9.5 limit and its front-only guidance.
- Zone ZONJ1: no owner reports found on the maker page or reachable forums.
Who should buy which
Buy the Rough Country 7594 if your TJ sits nose-down on stock-size tires and you only want it level. It's two parts on one axle, and it costs about half as much. Plan on an alignment anyway.
Buy the Zone ZONJ1 if you want 32s or height at both ends. You get the rear spacers, bump stop extensions and a real install manual. Zone's warranty is also spelled out, which RC's isn't.
Neither is a substitute for a spring lift if you plan to go past 32s. TJ lift kits compared explains what changes at the next step up.
FAQ
Is Rough Country 7594 a lift or a level on a TJ?
A level. Rough Country sells it as a front pair and calls it a 1.75 in. front lift that levels the stance. Zone ZONJ1 adds 1.75 in. at both axles, so it lifts the whole Jeep.
Which one fits 32 in. tires?
Zone lists 32 x 11.5 on a 15 x 8 or 16 x 8 wheel with 3.5 in. backspacing, and says trimming may be required. Rough Country says 30x9.5 is the largest it recommends with 7594.
Do I need an alignment after installing either one?
Zone's instructions say a front end alignment is required, and Zone recommends front alignment cam bolts on TJs with factory-length lower control arms. Rough Country publishes no install instructions for 7594.
Why does the Zone kit include bump stop extensions?
The spacers move the axle further from the frame, and the extensions move the bump stop down to match. Zone says they properly limit up-travel. Rough Country 7594 includes no bump stop parts.
Sources
- Rough Country 7594 product page (Wayback capture, 13 May 2026)
- Rough Country 7594 product page (Wayback capture, 2013)
- Rough Country warranty page (Wayback capture, October 2025)
- Zone Offroad ZONJ1 product page
- Zone Offroad J2200 installation instructions, 1997-2006 Jeep TJ 1-3/4 in. coil spacer lift
- Zone Offroad product warranty
- TeraFlex 999117 TJ Budget Boost instructions (rake note)
- Quadratec: Rough Country 7594 listing
- ExtremeTerrain: Rough Country 7594 listing